Power Kite Forum

what kite for land and water ???

newboy - 12-7-2005 at 07:37 AM

is there a kit i can buy that does both land and water ?
im new to the sport and want to try both !
does it have to be 2 or 4 lines ?
and also do i only need a harness for land boarding
many thanks !:thumbup::yes:

bojin5 - 19-7-2005 at 07:59 AM

I have only just started flying power kites myself so my opinion is worth very little, but the peter lynn kites seem to cope with both water and land, I have seen people boarding and surfing with them.
From the advice I have got, you don't want to use a harness untill you are completely comfortable with the kite. Strapping into a harness means the dead man safety systems dont work.

There are lots of for and againsts when it comes to specific equipment, everyone has advised me to get some lessons from somewhere and try loads of stuff before buying, luckily where I am there are lots of kite schools so I will be going soon.

Bill_Benson - 21-7-2005 at 07:32 AM

Been hearing some good things about the Flysurfer Speed in other forums.

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

fightingfish - 21-7-2005 at 08:31 PM

i'm rather new to traction kiting also. however, i've read much about kiting over the past months...and i started with a stable land kite to practice with.

i wouldn't recommend any new kiter go buy a flysurfer speed. those are serious kites, for a serious kiter. i believe they are called 'water-relaunchable foils', wich fits into what you looking for. however, i don't think a speed would be a good kite to learn on. try a 'trainer'-type kite to learn on. depending on your weight, go with a moderate sized land foil to learn with.

if you do want to jump right into water kiting, take a lesson. you'll see just from one lesson how complicated it actually is. at that point you might want to get a water/snow kite for starters....

at least, that's where i'm coming from.

Bill_Benson - 21-7-2005 at 09:04 PM