Power Kite Forum

New to the sport - Need advice

roque - 14-4-2011 at 07:24 AM

Hello!

I am new to Kitting and I am looking for information to help me get what I need in order to start right without breaking my neck.

I joined this community yesterday and I am really glad to see all the help and advice you guys are giving to fellows like me. Thank you!

I weight 130 lbs and am interested in kite boarding in the water only.
I would like to get a decent relaunchable kite that can get me through the process of learning and acquiring the first skills and be able to get me in the water as well.

Since I'm in Minnesota, I will be Kite boarding in lakes pretty much. The wind here blows constantly and sometimes more than anybody could wish for.
Also, what about boards? (Fins, sizes, etc...)

Thank you in advance for your help,

Roque

Seanny - 14-4-2011 at 07:28 AM

Wow! Is it me, or is there a sudden explosion of people wanting to get into this? It's a great thing to see :)

Welcome to the forum lad! Any four line foil kite from quality brands like Peter Lynn, Ozone, Flexifoil, Slingshot, Best, Cabrinha (I think they have a foil kite trainer?) between 2 and 5 meters will work great :thumbup: shop around to find the best deals. The only thing I'd say you might want to avoid is a Pansh Ace or Flexifoil Blade... all others are fair game.

indigo_wolf - 14-4-2011 at 10:02 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Seanny
Wow! Is it me, or is there a sudden explosion of people wanting to get into this? It's a great thing to see

Spring fever..... new fliers and quiver shuffling.

One of the few kites that's a water relaunchable trainer is the HQ Hydra.

It won't get you on a board, except in higher winds (proceed with caution), but is suitable for basic kite skills and body dragging in the water.