Power Kite Forum

24M Phanny on 93M lines (WOOT!!??)

crazyherb - 25-11-2012 at 11:51 PM

Also known as "The Air Up There"

So, first off....thanks to Jeff (Big Kid) for letting me clean him out of his used line-sets. :thumbup:

I've been flying LEI's for about 5 years now, but ARCs have always been on my to-do list...I have not been let down...

Wind was consistent 5 mph all day with one little bump to 7-10 for about 10 minutes..

Part 1 - Are you Crazy?
Today started with quad line-set (23M stock Navigator + (2ea) 25M + 20M=93M=305FT). Jeff assisted launch and we SENT IT to what seemed to be the moon. I quickly realized the back lines were a bit tight (even sheeted all the way out)...So...I was powered up...and approaching apogee, getting light on my feet and feeling that first taste of "the air up there". WHOA...Nelly...couple of moon walks..hopping around at what felt 1/4 my weight...then, re-gaining my footing (Hint...the wind is NOT 5mph at 300ft AGL) and after a mild (non visible) panic attack I brought her back down to Jeff's waiting hands...we brought in a few inches of leading edge line and relaunched. Again...off "to the moon Alice!!" The mind plays a little trick on you here...(that kite looks small)...but you know that's 24 Sq meters of kick your rear end..if you mess with it. Where's my steering now?? Uh oh...now I'm not even using the bar to get it to come around grabbing the left oh crap handle.....then right... Ok, not much fun yet...and decided to land and pull two sets off.

Part 2 - Go with what works
Now on double line-set (23M+25M) turning was back, power was back...all good....rode for an hour or so....but I kept feeling like I was right on the edge of something at the top of the window...It was fun....bringing the kite up after a run prepping for transition back the other way...I'd hit the top of the window and get a little "extra credit" pull....what a tease....

Part 3 - Ahhh...just right