Power Kite Forum

What depower is good for jumping and upwind

shortlineflyer - 10-1-2013 at 09:29 AM

I think my next kite if it is a depower will need to be able to go upwind and be able to let me jump but wont drop me once I'm in the air. The depower foil that I have right now is the slingshot ranger 12m. It is great for landboarding and freestyle( from what ive heard, Im still learning and dont want to go out in higher winds and do a huge jump YET ) It has alot of float but it just doesnt have the speed to let me get upwind on my board. Normally when I go up wind I ride toeside since I am better at it than heel side and I like the feeling of toeside more than heel side. I'm wierd, I know. I feel that the ranger doesnt respond as well when riding toeside.

I learned to landboard on my 5m HQ Scout and it goes up wind fairly well but I am always afraid to jump with it on a board because I cant sheet out if I have to and the jumps can happen very quickly.

flyjump - 10-1-2013 at 09:36 AM

HQ, Montana, Matrixx.....Peter lynn venom, scorpion, phantom, charger, phantom II Flysurfer Speed 3 or 4

these should all do the trick. all of them will take you up wind and will give you decent height and hangtime. the ranger is a good kite, but jumping with it can be finiky at times. anything else that you think we can comment on for help?

B-Roc - 10-1-2013 at 10:09 AM

I agree with flyjump but would like to add that when riding toeside one tends to edge more aggressively to maintain balance or fly underpowerd so as to prevent being pulled over. As a result of either you will travel slower and diminish your upwind ability. The problem may be more your style then the kite you're flying.

flyjump - 10-1-2013 at 10:29 AM

Also, I forgot that ozone frenzy and manta will work too

John Holgate - 10-1-2013 at 02:20 PM

George loves his Ozone Frenzy's.....

shortlineflyer - 10-1-2013 at 04:21 PM