Power Kite Forum

new to the sport help

eddie - 7-6-2007 at 11:07 PM

i am new to the sport of kite surfing i do ride the wake board often . my question is what kite to buy im looking on ebay seems to be some good deals there most of my surfing will be on lake texoma , north texas wind normaly 5-20 mph im about 200 lbs ofcourse ill fly on land for a while to learn the kite but for my weight i cant catch massive air behind a boat so i thought i will try a kite . any and all help will be useful
thanks
eddie

Bladerunner - 8-6-2007 at 08:58 AM

If you can take a lesson it will be the best way to go. I suspect that with one lesson you will have the skills to start working on the board and it sounds like that will come easy. After the lesson you will have a better idea of what kite to buy for your area and such.

powerzone - 8-6-2007 at 09:48 AM

start thinking Flysurfer.... expensive yes, but cuts the learning curve by 1/2 just because the kites do what they are supposed to do .... no surprises and no fussing, so you can pay more attention to balance etc..

eddie - 8-6-2007 at 07:59 PM

cool thanks

Pablo - 9-6-2007 at 09:00 AM

If you don't mind making the windrange more like 12-25mph, instead of 5-20, you can do fairly well with a PL Arc, there's a number of them going for fairly cheap in the buy sell area. They're super stable and easy to fly, make good power and get good lift/float. Only drawbacks are poor low wind performance and a bit of a pain to learn the launch. Plus side, once in the air, it probably won't touch the ground until the sessions over, the autozenith works awesome.

NPWfever - 10-10-2007 at 08:59 AM