Power Kite Forum

Looking for a Water Kite

nailimexam - 30-12-2007 at 09:51 PM

Hi, I'm looking for a kite with the following properties:

1. Easy to launch from the water

2. Quick Unpacking/Packing. Also compact storage.

3. Entry Level (I have some experience flying two-line stunt kites from Prism)

Would be nice to also have:

1. Ability to fly upwind (into the wind).

2. Ability to drop power whil still flying (in case of unexpected gusts).

3. flight in light winds

Would a quad-line closed-cell/ram air foil be best for my needs?

domdino - 31-12-2007 at 09:26 AM

Hey man.... sounds like you need to get yourself a flysurfer or peter lynn kite if you're set on a foil!
What kind of wind speeds are you gonna be primarily flying in, and how clean is the wind where you are? (ocean breezes or inland?)

Here's my opinion on your needs:

1. Easy to launch: Flysurfer Pulse2
2. Quick unpacking / compact: Flysurfers & Peter Lynns
3. Entry Level: GET A LESSON. PLEASE. Peter Lynn are better entry level kites.
4. Flying upwind: That is more an ability you yourself will need to learn, all kites can go upwind, some better than others
5. Dropping power is more like gust absorption and foils are generally better at dealing with this than inflatos, although bow and sle kites drop power very well by letting the bar out, foils will generally just cruise through
6. Lightwinds: Flysurfer SA.

leebrianh - 31-12-2007 at 09:39 AM

Looks like you are looking for Flysurfer, except for one thing, it's not for beginners. Unless you use Flysurfer when you take lessons, you will need to spend some time to understand how Flysurfer works. If you are patient enough, however, reward is more than you think.

Pablo - 31-12-2007 at 11:01 AM

If you have to deal with light winds on a regular basis, avoid PL kites. They're great at most things, but light winds are not one of them.

nailimexam - 31-12-2007 at 11:18 AM

Hey guys, thanks for the replies.