Power Kite Forum

10m Gin Eskimo III

SecondWind - 23-4-2009 at 03:12 AM

After reading the specs and getting some feedback from other kiters, I thought it was time to try out the new 10m Gin Eskimo III.

Gin, well known for its paragliders, also produces a snow kite lineup.

http://snow.ginkites.com/products.html

Here is the user manual:
http://www.ginkites.com/downloads/ESKIMO_III_manual_english....

The Eskimo III is very well made and the attention to detail is quite evident as you look over the sail and bar setup.

The bag is also best I have seen so far!

I have been using the 10m Eskimo on land with a mountainboard and dirtsurfer would good results.

It is not a super fast turner and I don’t get the feel that it has extreme “pop”. However, it is rock solid stable and I bet it glides well off snow covered mountains.

I’m most comfortable on skis, so I’m no pro on a mountainboard, but the Eskimo is silky smooth with power and I’m having no problems getting air.

Huge amount of depower – I haven’t even played around with the trim strap yet.

It is not a good low wind engine. It needs at least 10 mph to generate power on grass (sweet spot is 15 mph for me).

The super complex bridle system is surprisingly tangle resistant and the 5th line safety system works like a charm with little spinning or tangling on the way down.

The bridle mixer has easy to adjust stopper balls and I’m sure there are ways to tune it in more. However, there are not many of them out yet and no rider forum that I’m aware of - so I'll just keep it stock for now.

The bar pressure is more than my previous Flysurfers, but nothing overwhelming.

Similar kites I have flown include Flysurfer Psycho III, Pulse 2, Speed 2 & Outlaw and the HQ Neo.

One rider from the Flexi forum purchased the Eskimo III after test flying it on snow and is now selling his 10m Outlaw and Speed 2 – it must have some serious potential :thumbup: