Power Kite Forum

Kite Surfing vs Wake Boarding

bwebb78 - 17-6-2009 at 06:22 AM

Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie to Kite-Surfing, just found and getting interested in the sport. About to buy a traction trainer kite, with the goal of getting to Kite-Surfing quick..

I grew up water skiing, and only tried wakeboarding once, and wasn't able to get up.. (I was also heavier then)

Can someone compare/contrast the differences between getting up out of the water (wakeboarding and kite surfing)and boarding for longer time periods (wakeboarding and kite surfing)

When I was skiing after about 10 minutes, my arms and legs were cooked and would need a short break before skiing again.. (Arms/Legs i guess just weren't used to it, because I didn't ski everyday..)

Thanks for any input!!

PHREERIDER - 17-6-2009 at 06:42 AM

QUICK, hmmm

find 40 hours of good coniditions and you are there , but to do this quick you'll need to be in rock solid shape.

i know what you mean with the cooked arms skiing and being heavier

10 hours with the trainer at the end of that you should be able to fly it blind if not keep flying.

GO to hatteras jump into it with an instructor. a day (8 hours) with more kite in coniditions for learning

the better you are in shape the faster and longer you can work at it .

wrestling in the water/surf with a kite dragging around and doing open water relaunches it will test you. if you are not use to it you will only be able to do 30min . and be totally smoked ...so 40 hours is a long way away

be patient work with the trainer

or if you got the time and the $ go hang at Cabarette for a couple months and you will be set.

it gets better

PHREERIDER - 17-6-2009 at 06:48 AM

oh yeah failed to mention

this is a balancing board sport , nuture this component and it will go smoother when time to add the board

get an indo board or something like it

bwebb78 - 17-6-2009 at 06:50 AM