Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Flexifoil Blade V 6.5 & Crossfire II 6.5
Gerryt

[*] posted on 8-8-2010 at 09:42 PM
Flexifoil Blade V 6.5 & Crossfire II 6.5

I'm fairly new to power kiting having just got my first power kite a few months ago, a Crossfire II 6.5. I have also been flying a Rush Pro 350 and recently bought a used Flexifoil Blade V 6.5 from another member here. My only other kite experience has been twenty years flying stunt kites including a Revolution.

Having flown the Crossfire II 6.5 before the Blade V 6.5 I probably have a deeper appreciation for what is clearly the Blade's superior design and performance. It was the temperamental nature of the Crossfire and its habit of collapsing anytime after I jumped that prompted me to buy the Blade. I know a better pilot could get more performance out of the Crossfire but if I had to do it over I would have bought the Blade first.

These are my observations -
The Blade has 8 more cells than the Crossfire and the entire leading edge is open to catching more air and filling the kite more easily than the Crossfire. I feel the higher air pressure inside the Blade contributes to it's resistance to collapse.

The bridle on the Blade is longer than the Crossfire's, I think this allows the Blade to retain a flatter curved airfoil. The bridle on the Crossfire appears to pull in the ends of the kite which are already not firmly inflated further contributing to its tendency to collapse in less than ideal wind and ideal position in the wind window.

The Blade is a foot wider and has a higher profile than the Crossfire, it is also heavier than the Crossfire and seems to need more wind to get launched even on it's light wind bridle setting.