Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: the Aussie kiting scene
3lad3

[*] posted on 19-4-2006 at 11:55 PM
the Aussie kiting scene

Hi, Just thought I'd introduce myself and in case anyone is interested, I'd thought I'd put in a link to the Australia kiting scene -

http://www.extreme-kites.com

Forums, reviews, weather, that sort of thing.

cheers,
Gav
JB

Mood: Relaxed

[*] posted on 20-4-2006 at 01:05 AM

Hi 3lad3,

Welcome to the Power Kite Forum! I'm a bit of a newbie here, but it seems to be a great place to have a chat about any aspect of kiting. Enjoy!

BTW, is buggying popular over in Aus? I hear plenty about kite-surfing, but not much about buggying? Just wondering if it's ever worth me doing a trip over from NZ at some stage?

JB

CQuad 2.2
CQuad 6.3
F-ARC 12m

PL Bigfoot
PL NABX

http://kitebuggy.johnb.co.nz
3lad3

[*] posted on 20-4-2006 at 07:25 PM

Kiteboarding is definitely more popular in Australia than buggying, I guess because Australians are big on water sports. Buggying is coming along slowly though, and we have some awesome places to do it. We have great beaches, huge salt lakes and plenty of other open places to go. All I need is more time to get out there!

cheers,
Gav
coreykite

Mood: Who Moo-ed?

[*] posted on 30-5-2006 at 11:02 AM

Howdy,
The Buggy Scene in Oz has a rich history.
In mid-November 1995, upon the completion of the World Cup Sport Kite Team Competition in Lakes Entrance, Victoria, Gary Lyons and I envisioned and organized the Outback Buggy Safari.
We gathered 19 individual from all over the world, including three Americans, chartered a bus to haul us from the east coast of Australia, across Victoria, to Adelaide, South Australia and then up into the interior, beyond the bush, to the "land of the never-never", to Lake Gairdner, the fourth or fifth largest dry lake bed in the world.