Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Complete Newbie...
fzh2p0

[*] posted on 18-11-2006 at 11:58 AM
Complete Newbie...

Hi folks,

after spending quite a bit of time boarding and buggying, I am now looking at getting into the kite skating world. I have read through the doom wheels build instructions but was wondering if any of the standard all terrain skates out there are any good for kite skating? And if so what are the pros and cons of the different makes? Or are home-made doom wheels so much better that it is not worth the agro of buying ready made skates?

I am not a small chap (6' 5" and around 250 lbs, size 14 feet) so I need something pretty stable!! My main flying terrain is grassy fields (soccer pitches etc.) so I don't need really rough terrain ability.

Currently I fly a 4m Samurai II, an 8m Access and an 11m Riot depending on wind conditions and am waiting for my 4.9m Blade to arrive any day now for those mental times in mid to high wind!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Rob
Bladerunner
Posting Freak

[*] posted on 18-11-2006 at 06:14 PM

I just bought a set of Coyote Rollerblades. I'ld say they have exceeded my expectation. So far I have only had them out in low wind with my 7m bullet. ( accept today on my 4.5 for a couple of short, frustrating runs ) I have already spent a lot of time on tarmac with street blades and found the transfer very natural. I also ski / kiteski .