Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: new to me kite
vibe

[*] posted on 8-1-2007 at 01:27 PM
new to me kite

Well this is my first post, I have been stunting with 2 and 4 line kites for about 6 yrs and a Beamer 3.6 traction kite, so I decided that it was time for a bow kite. I went on ebay and got a 2003 15.5 cabrihna acess kits with power drive control system its brand new and i got an amazing deal but i think i may have over done it with ths size ( should have done more research). Im 5'10 180lbs and in decent shape, I live in Nova Scotia Canada. So now i need suggestions as to what to do sell kite and get a 9m or around there or keep it and take lessons with it ? thanks for the help guys/gals
leebrianh

[*] posted on 8-1-2007 at 01:45 PM

I don't know that kite very well but I would say go to manufacturer website and check its wind range first. Maybe have a test flight when wind is steady and very very low and go from there. As you develop your skills, you are going to need a bigger kites anyway..... Brian

gene9999

[*] posted on 8-1-2007 at 02:31 PM

What do you intend to do with it?
Seems too big for anything but kitesurfing.
I've gt a 7m bullet and at 15mph I get nice long scuds & can leave the ground at will. Oh yeah I weigh in at about 250.:duh::cool:
vibe

[*] posted on 8-1-2007 at 02:57 PM

i plan to surf with it and there is a place here that give lessons 200 bucks for 3 hrs for 2 people
gene9999

[*] posted on 8-1-2007 at 03:04 PM

Well the kite isn't too big. There will be days when it's too much. The bad thing about taking the lesson is you clearly know how to fly. Hopefully your instructor will tranlate this to more water time. They can also reccomend a size for you.
bigkahuna

[*] posted on 8-1-2007 at 03:25 PM

A 15.5 at your weight would make a good lightwind kite. I'd recommend you keep it (for now) and add a 10m or 12m later (which would be better for most days I'd guess).