Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: First Kiteboard
bigsteve

[*] posted on 1-8-2008 at 07:11 AM
First Kiteboard

Back in May I bought my first depowerables with intent for kiteboarding. (been flying blades and stuff for a few years before) I ended up with the 10m and 14m pulse2 from. By the way Powerzone is a heck of a guy to buy from. I spent a lot of time with him on the phone prior to buying. Even got to spend a day up at his town biking and kiting!

Anyway.. trying to figure out my first board for water. My primary spot is not really high wind.. 12-15 most days, some days are 15-20. I weigh 215. If I could get up.. I'd go out in lighter winds too, but this might mean a second board.. not sure. Do you guys have any recommendations?

Also.. I have a total newb question in regards to depowerables. I havent been otu in big winds mountain boarding.. but in winds 15 or less, both the 10 and 14 will oversheet. Is this normal? (im on soft steering and am not touching the trim). So when jumping.. I'm always going for that sweet spot before it oversheets but is still fully powered.. Is this normal? This is how they ahve been since I've had them.
leebrianh

[*] posted on 1-8-2008 at 07:19 AM

Hello,

I am thinking Spleene Session41 or similar size would be right for you.

FYI, my friend weighs 220lb and he had fun with my Rip34 in *25mph* wind. Don't think Rip34 is right for your weight and your local wind.
powerzone

[*] posted on 1-8-2008 at 08:01 AM

by oversheeting you're referring to backstalling with the bar pulled in?

set both pulse2 kites to HARD steering... or a little beyond hard even.

the 14m can be mixered to B+0.5 and C+1.0 to make it more aggro.

Former Flysurfer Representative & Repair Center
nwsurfwakeskate

Mood: itching to ride!

[*] posted on 1-8-2008 at 08:20 AM