Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: wetsuit recomendations?
bigsteve

[*] posted on 14-8-2008 at 06:28 PM
wetsuit recomendations?

So a local shop was recomending the mystic venom SL 5/3 (seattle area)...

What do you guys think.. I know you non locals will have a hard time gauging the thickness. but is this a good quality suit for the money or do you have suggestions of other good suits to look into?

Thanks
ragden
Posting Freak

Mood: ready to ride...

[*] posted on 14-8-2008 at 07:00 PM

I have been bodyboarding for about 20 yrs now off the California Coast (yes I live in VA, but I have family there that I visit from time to time). As far as wetsuits go, 5/3 is probably a good thickness. You could look for a 5/4, but you will lose that flexibility. And since you wont be spending too much time in the water (hopefully), you'll probably be fine. Personally dont know the brand, and I cannot recall what brand I have back in Cali. I want to say its a body glove, but not positive. I'd recommend you try them on and see which fits the most comfortably.
Bladerunner
Posting Freak

[*] posted on 14-8-2008 at 09:28 PM

Ocean Rodeo make kiteboard specific dry suits. They are very popular up here in Vancouver. I'm happy with mine.
If it is for surf they have just come out with an awsome new outfit.
http://www.oceanrodeo.com/surfing/drysuits.php

Kites: 2.5m Profoil , Quadrifoil XL kitesurfer, NPW 5 Danger.
Flexifoil: 1.7m Sting, 4.9m Blade 3, 9m Blade 2.
Flysurfer : 19m Speed 2 SA, 7m Pulse
Peter Lynn :18m Phantom, 15m Synergy, 10m Synergy, 1200 Farc, 460 Sarc, 130 Tarc, 5m Peel, 4.2m , 6.4, 8.5 C-Quads, 3.5 LS2 single skin.

Rides: Flexi / P.L. Frankin'Buggy , Shaped + straight skiis, sand skis, Coyote blades. Core 95 ATB. RKB R2 ATB .

Ken (K2)
bigsteve

[*] posted on 14-8-2008 at 09:56 PM