Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Beamer II 3.0
Quantum

[*] posted on 18-10-2008 at 08:51 AM
Beamer II 3.0

I'm fairly new to power kiting, but I've been flying lots of 2 lines for years and have a fair about of quad line flying on Revolution kites. While trying to decide what kites to get started with I read almost all of the the posts here and want to thank the collective wisdom contained in these forums. I hope I can add to it in some small way.

I've been flying a Snapshot1.9 for a few years and knew I wanted something bigger. Eventually I'd like to get into snow/land boarding, but for now its static flying with some moderate jumps. I weight about 200lbs and have a very dense 5'7" frame. (Never broken a bone and not for lack of trying...) I've flown the small Snapshot 1.9 (really 1.5m2) in some very heavy 30mph winds and really enjoyed it. That kite gave me the bug. I've even modified the bridle to fly the Snapshot on my Revolution handles. I'll save that for another post however.

So for the reasons above, and the collected wisdom here, I chose the HQ Beamer III 3.0m and CrossFire II 6.5. The Beamer was selected to make sure my skills were as good as I thought :) and it would become my high wind kite. The CrossFire was selected to give me a light wind kite and some margin for jumping and traction fun. Their DTS system seemed to offer some flexibility without complex de-power systems.

Both kites were purchased from Cobra Kite. I chose them for their competitive prices (not the lowest, but close enough) and because of their informative website. I'd order from them again. Perhaps soon too as I'm starting to look into de-power systems.

So much for the reasoning, now for the reviews.

Beamer III - 3.0m2