Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: New to kitesurfing, few questions
NHT Kitesurfer

[*] posted on 22-11-2008 at 10:56 AM
New to kitesurfing, few questions

Hi all, I am actually completely new to surfing. I saw a video a couple of years ago of someone who kite surfed from Catalina Island to LA harbor, and have wanted to give it a go ever since then. I am finally taking some time off in a few weeks to take lessons and purchase equipment in Fort Lauderdale FL. I have an instructional video from IKO: Progression beginner. It seems like a great source to begin with. I can obviously see from the vid. that practice is the only way to figure it out, but I am familiar with the terms now as well as equipment etc.

A couple of things:

I plan to mostly be surfing on the North Shore of MA, specifically in Nahant, as my family has a place there that I will be able to launch from. With this in mind can anyone recommend a wetsuit brand/type? From the searching I have done online, it looks like I should get a 302 or 403 full suit. Also what about the neoprene under suit?

Another thing, I am also hoping to be able to do some kite-skiing. Can anyone tell me if I can use the same harness and kite etc. to do this as I would for surfing?

I am really looking forward to this, and any thoughts/ideas would really be helpful.

Is there a group on here that surfs on the North Shore of MA, or perhaps the NH seacoast, or even Nahant? I have seen a number of kites on the beaches in Nahant, so I know some people do surf there.

Cheers!
:singing:
DenisLaMenace

[*] posted on 22-11-2008 at 11:26 AM

hi

kitesurfer on water is not a self-learning thing, you should book a lesson even if you watched the IKO video. Theory and practice are 2 different things in that sport.

you should also start training with a small kite on the ground first. Lot of threads on that topic, just search them.