Power Kite Forum
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Ocean Rodeo Rise
Brian

[*] posted on 16-1-2009 at 12:37 PM
Ocean Rodeo Rise

I am new at the sport and am very interested in kite surfing I am starting out with a 3m fixed bridle kite then getting a bigger one later on for land traction kiting then I am going to look at Water kites and was wondering if the ocean rodeo kites are good for newbies or if there are better ones out there, also if I can get some input on weather a foil kite or one with a pump is better.
DenisLaMenace

[*] posted on 16-1-2009 at 01:36 PM

Even though I have never tried a OR rise, I know for sure they are good kites. They have a solid reputation. It's a well made Canadian product.

Domdino (forum member) has had some of them, and sure he was happy with.

Most SLE/bow/hybrid kites are OK for beginners as long as you have the proper training.

Maybe avoid C-shape or high aspect ratio kites while you still learn, but still.

The RISE is recommended for all levels and is supposedly a good and stable kite for eating gusts, which can be of course recommended for a beginner.

Low end might be less than other brands like Cabrinha, but maybe it's been improved in 2009

One thing to check as a beginner is the ease of relaunch in water.

RISE Price is fair versus other brands.

A lot of other brands will be OK too for you, it's just a matter of like or not. Demo if you can before buying. If you can't then why not trying to buy used.

One thing I've learned when buying kite without trying is to make sure you like the BAR. The BAR is the connection between you and the kite which can have different features from brand to brand, so liking the bar helps to like a kite.

Bar features to check for:
- ease to use and reach depower strap
- safety system
- and more....

NOW what about foils ???