Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: *review* Peter Lynn Scorpion 16m
ripsessionkites
Posting Freak

Mood: retired until racing starts

[*] posted on 24-5-2009 at 07:24 AM
*review* Peter Lynn Scorpion 16m

Bladerunner and I recieved this kite to try while waiting for his Chargers. 2 weeks ago, we didnt have much wind and only prepared to set it up. This weekend was great, the winds were up and we finally got to launch in desent wind around 15 to 20 knots. We tigtened up the outside straps a little bit more and it turned nicer than the low wind setting (all straps loose).

History of me:
Im a handles boy, never like bars. I've been using a mtn board since 2001, and always using my fixed foils for kite groundboarding. the control feel seems nicer to me, however you do have one drawback when you bail hard, no depower and the foil sometimes luffs or tip wraps.

To the review:
I really enjoyed flying the Arc style kites (ill try to talk more kite than brand), and even more so than LEI kites. The bar pressure felt good, a little on the light side for me, but its not my kite. Not so sure i like the Spinning Bar leash either, I'd probably remove that and go to the Pro Leash and attach that to my Chicken Loop.
Having said that, its because I noticed when i bailed hard and i let go of the bar (still hooked in) the kite went to zenith with no power. thats where I think the adantage of the Arc design comes in. The Auto Zenith feature really works and works well each and everytime. Another accident I had today ... I was airborne and was close to other kitebuggier I flew into his lines, and he was actually trying to get his kite under me. (would have been cool if cleared over his lines just another 4 more feet) anyways I got into his lines, kicked the board off in mid air, and let go of the bar so i could deal with my landing hands forward. WOW, i just floated down, had it been a fixed foil and I went hands free i'd be dropping like a rock.